Whether or not a landlord can evict a month-to-month tenant depends on the state in which they reside. Some states allow landlords to evict tenants without any specific reason, while others require landlords to provide a valid reason for wanting to evict a tenant. In most states, however, the landlord must give the tenant a reasonable amount of time to vacate the property before filing for eviction.
Today, we will be talking about Nevada state laws for evicting a month-to-month tenant. Check with your state’s department of housing or tenancy to learn more about the specific laws that apply to your area.
Eviction Process in Nevada
As a general overview, there are different timelines for evicting tenants in Nevada, according to the type of lease agreement or rental agreement they have with the landlord and the reason for the eviction.
For example, if you have a less-than-exemplary tenant living in your rental property and you find out they’ve been dealing drugs on the premises, you only have to give that tenant a three-day notice to quit (meaning they have three days to leave the property). Additionally, if your tenant pays rent weekly, and they haven’t done anything wrong but you just want them to leave, you only have to give that person a seven-day written notice.
Use an Eviction Services Company
We realize this is a lot of information to digest, and that some of the terminologies might be foreign to most people. So, if you’re a landlord who is trying to navigate the eviction process, civil law, and landlord-tenant disputes on your own, just know that there are resources available to you. And, if you’re getting overwhelmed, you don’t know where to start, or you just simply don’t have the time or patience to deal with the eviction yourself, contact a local eviction services company like Rocket Eviction to handle the eviction for you. They’ll do everything from serving the eviction notices and filing justice court documents to providing legal aid in court and changing the locks on your property.
Evicting a Month-to-Month Tenant
You can certainly evict a renter with a month-to-month tenancy, but according to Nevada law, you must give them an initial thirty-day notice to quit. And by 30 days, we mean business days, not calendar days. This means that weekends and holidays do not count towards the eviction period. It’s also important to note that the day you deliver the notice does not count towards one of the days of the eviction period either. So, you can’t deliver a notice late one day and say that counts towards one of the allotted 30 days. If the tenant fails to leave the rental property after the 30 days are up, you can deliver them a five-day Unlawful Detainer notice that states that, under Nevada law, their presence is now unlawful.
Also, if the renter has a physical or mental disability or is over the age of sixty, and you receive documentation proving the tenant’s age or disability, you may have to allow them an additional 30-day notice period as long as they can prove it and as long as they continue paying rent.
The only time you wouldn’t have to give someone with a month-to-month tenancy a 30-day notice is if the tenant:
- Ceases to pay rent or if the tenant pays rent late consistently
- Has caused damage to the property beyond normal wear and tear
- Is engaging in illegal activity or businesses on the premises
- Is disturbing other tenants or neighbors
If any of these lease violation issues apply to a tenant in your rental property, you can give the tenant a three-, seven-, or 10-day notice to quit, depending on the severity of the issue.
The Bottom Line
While it is possible to evict someone with a month-to-month tenancy in Nevada, there are certain procedures that must be followed in order to do so legally. Be sure to give your tenant the appropriate amount of notice, depending on the situation, and consult with an eviction services company or an attorney if you have any questions or concerns about the eviction process.
For the most part, if the person hasn’t violated their lease agreement or if they pay rent on time, you have to provide that person a 30-day notice to quit to lawfully execute the eviction process according to civil law statutes and avoid justice court. However, if your tenant damages your rental property, or violates their rental agreement, you may be entitled to serve them an eviction notice with a much shorter eviction notice period.
For more information on evicting a tenant in Nevada, check out this helpful article provided by Rocket Eviction in Las Vegas, NV. If you need help evicting a tenant for any reason, be sure to contact the eviction experts at Rocket Eviction.