In some eviction cases in Nevada, you are required to give the tenant a 30-day notice before filing for eviction. However, there are many more situations in which you can evict the tenant by giving them shorter notice. Today, we will discuss Nevada eviction timelines and what kinds of behaviors warrant the different types of eviction notices.
Just as a heads up, any timelines discussed throughout this article are to be interpreted as business days, not calendar days. Also, the day you deliver the eviction notice to your tenant does not count as one of the days. Okay, now let’s get started.
No Cause Eviction Notice
When you evict a tenant without cause, you are required to give them a 30-day notice. This means that the eviction is not due to any wrongdoing or lease violation on the part of the tenant. The most common reason for eviction without cause is when the landlord wants to sell the property or move in themselves. In these cases, the tenant must be given at least 30 days to vacate the premises.
You can only deliver this type of notice to your tenant after their lease ends. Also, if your tenant is over the age of 60 or if they have a mental or physical disability, they are allowed to request an additional 30 days to stay on the property. Whether your tenant stays for 30 days or 60 days beyond the end of their lease, they are expected to continue paying rent to the landlord. If they do not pay rent during the extension, you are allowed to issue them a seven-day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit, unless the court has specified otherwise beforehand.
If the tenant stays for 30 or 60 days, and then still refuses to leave the property, you can issue them a five-day Notice to Quit for Unlawful Detainer. This notice lets the tenant know that their presence is now unlawful. It’s also important to note that if your tenant pays rent weekly, you are only required to give them a seven-day notice.
Eviction Notices That Are Not 30 Days
There are many situations that do not require you to give your tenant a full 30 days to satisfy the eviction process. These are just a few of the most common ones:
If your tenant is on a tenancy-at-will agreement, you are only required to give them a five-day notice before filing for eviction. If the tenant does not comply with the first five-day notice, you are allowed to issue them a second five-day Unlawful Detainer notice.
If you’re unfamiliar with a tenancy-at-will, it basically means that the tenant does not have a formal lease agreement with the landlord, and they may or may not pay rent to live in your rental property. Sometimes you’ll see a tenancy-at-will when people allow friends or family to stay in their rental property for an extended period of time without paying rent, or without having a set end date for their tenancy.
Nuisance, Waste, and More
This is one area where you might find descriptions for those, so-called, “rogue” tenants. Under Nevada law, in instances of waste, illegal drug use, illegal business, subletting, or when the tenant becomes a nuisance, you are only required to give the tenant a three-day notice to quit, followed by a five-day Unlawful Detainer notice if they refuse to leave. This category basically covers situations where the tenant becomes unruly, causes disruptions to the neighborhood, conducts illegal activity, or causes damage or destruction to the property.
If ever you don’t feel safe or confident evicting a rogue tenant on your own, you can always hire an eviction services firm like Rocket Eviction to handle the entire eviction process for you. They’ll take care of everything from start to finish so you can try to avoid the summary eviction process, the formal eviction process, or an eviction lawsuit, and not have to deal with tenants directly. Visit Rocket Eviction’s website to learn more and to get a quote.
Lease Agreement Violations
This is another area where you might find an unruly tenant. If your tenant violates their lease or rental agreement in Nevada, you are allowed to issue a five-day notice to quit or correct the lease agreement issue. This type of eviction notice affords the tenant five days to remedy the situation, or leave the property. If the tenant fails to fix the situation and they refuse to leave the property, you are allowed to deliver a second five-day notice for Unlawful Detainer.
What’s Your Situation?
As you can see, there are many more situations that require less than a 30-day notice to quit. If you simply don’t want that person living there anymore, even though there is no lease violation and they’ve been paying rent on time, you’ll have to abide by the 30-day rule. Moreover, if they are able to prove that they are over 60 years old, or that they have a mental or physical disability, you may need to allow them to stay in the rental property for an additional 30 days.
Those disruptive tenants that violate their lease agreement, cause trouble in the neighborhood or destroy your property don’t have to remain on your property for a full 30 days if you don’t want them to. If you’re in need of assistance carrying out an eviction ASAP, and you’re trying to avoid justice court, the summary eviction process, an eviction lawsuit, or the formal eviction process, contact Rocket Eviction today. Their affordable, comprehensive eviction services include delivering eviction notices, filing paperwork, representing you in court, and even removing tenants and changing locks on your rental property. Don’t wait any longer; get your property back now.