Landlords have to follow certain requirements when evicting a tenant in Las Vegas. The notice period varies depending on the eviction type and lease or rental agreement violation. Today, we will cover many of the required tenant eviction notices landlords can serve for unlawful tenant behavior in Nevada.
If you are a tenant, there are many resources where you can read up on your rights. Many of those resources are found with the Civil Law Self Help Center of Nevada. If you’re a landlord, this article is one of your best resources. Before we begin, it’s important to note that all notice period timeframes given are to be interpreted as business days, not calendar days.
7-Day Notice To Quit For Not Paying Rent In Nevada
If your tenant fails to pay rent, then they are violating the terms of their lease or rental agreement. It’s important that landlords follow specific guidelines when serving eviction notices when tenants don’t pay rent. The state of Nevada requires 7 days’ written notice to be delivered to the tenant who has not paid rent. This eviction notice should be served using certified mail or hand delivery with evidence of receipt from the tenant. If the tenant decides to pay rent within that 7-day time frame, then the tenant can void the eviction notice, and the landlord won’t pursue an eviction lawsuit in justice court.
Tenancy-at-Will Notice To Quit
Typically, when a tenant moves into an apartment or house that isn’t covered by a rental agreement, the tenant’s occupancy is under tenancy-at-will. This means that the tenant occupies the property with permission from the landlord and the tenant agrees to vacate when required by the landlord.
If a landlord wants one of these types of tenants to leave, whether the tenant pays rent weekly, monthly, or not at all, they just have to deliver an eviction notice that gives the tenant a 5-day notice period to vacate the property.
5-Day Notice To Quit For Unlawful Detainer In Nevada
This unlawful detainer notice is often served to tenants after an initial eviction notice has already been issued to the tenant, like in the case of tenancy-at-will. If the first five days have passed, and the tenant is still on the property, the landlord can issue a second Unlawful Detainer notice that informs the tenant that their presence is unlawful. Landlords need to serve tenants with 5 days’ written notice and tenants cannot be engaging in any illegal activities (drug use, prostitution, etc).
Many times, landlords will pursue the formal eviction process, in which they request money from the tenant and for repossession of the property if the tenant fails to adhere to their first eviction notice.
If you’ve already served your initial notice and you are hesitant about delivering this second 5-day notice to an unruly tenant, contact the eviction experts at Rocket Eviction today. They will handle the entire tenant eviction process from start to finish. They will serve eviction notices, draw up all necessary paperwork, provide legal counsel, and assist in the removal of the tenant once the eviction has been granted. Their solutions are affordable, and their service is impeccable!
Lease Agreement Violation Notice To Quit In Nevada
Many landlords have specific rules outlined in their lease agreement about what tenant behavior is considered acceptable and unacceptable. If the tenant is violating the tenant lease agreement, the tenant will need to receive written notice of the violation, beginning the process of evicting a tenant. Depending on the severity of the rental agreement violation, the tenant will receive a 5-day eviction notice that offers them the option of fixing the violation or vacating the property.
Nuisance, Waste, Subletting, Unlawful Business, or Drug Violation Notice To Quit
Depending on the severity of tenant violation, the tenant could receive a 3-day eviction notice to initiate the eviction process, followed by a 5-day Unlawful Detainer notice if the renter does not vacate the property.
If the tenant creates a nuisance and disturbs neighbors, creates large amounts of waste on the property, produces or sells drugs from the home, operates a business unlawfully from the home, engages in unlawful business like prostitution at the home, or sublets to other renters ar the home, the landlord has the right to use this type of eviction notice.
No Cause Notices
A “no cause” notice can be used to evict a tenant who remains on the property after their lease has expired, or if they do not currently have a lease agreement with the landlord. This notice is used when the renter has been paying rent, and they likely haven’t been doing anything unlawful, but the landlord wants them to leave. This notice requires that the landlord give their tenants an initial thirty-day notice to vacate the premises.
If the tenant can prove that they are over 60 years old, and there is documentation proving tenant’s age, or if they have a physical or mental disability, they can request to be allowed to stay on the property for an additional 30 days past the initial time period. If they do have a physical or mental disability, or if they can prove that they are over 60 years old, then the landlord must allow them to stay in the property.
Which Eviction Notice Are You Serving?
By understanding which tenant eviction notice is needed in each circumstance, landlords can properly serve tenants and follow all tenant laws when evicting a tenant. Landlord-tenant disputes and property evictions are never pleasant, so if you need to evict someone, do it the right way. Both the landlord and the tenant suffer when the details are missed, and the wrong paperwork is filed.
For assistance evicting an unruly tenant, contact Rocket Eviction today. They will deliver all eviction notices for you, file paperwork with the justice court, provide legal advice, help you through court proceedings, and work with local authorities to remove unlawful tenants all at an affordable rate for landlords. If you’re a tenant, reach out to the Civil Law Self Help Center of Nevada for assistance.